Feeling A Little Bored?

Since I’ve been playing sports my entire life, I haven’t had too much free time. My days were filled with school, tennis, and homework; there wasn’t much time to just sit around and relax. Now that I no longer play tennis, much of schedule has cleared up. I have an abundance of time where I can just sit back and relax. However, after about two days of doing nothing, I tend to get bored. So what was I to do?

Spending the last weekend in Boston with family helped me realize that I love spending time with people. I enjoy meeting up with old friends and sharing jokes and stories.

When I got back to school, instead of lazing around in my dorm, I texted a few friends to ask if they wanted to meet for lunch. I got a few enthusiastic replies and ended spending the rest of my evening going to several different diners with several different people. By the end of the night, I felt energized.

I quickly made plans to spend the weekend with my sister, who was flying up from Atlanta. Then, I made plans to spend a weekend with a few girls I knew from high school. But in addition to hanging out with all my friends, I made sure to devote more time to writing (another activity I love).

Making all these plans to hang out, definitely raised my excitement. It made me way more energized and active during the day.

My advice to everyone who might be feeling  a little bored is to find something you love. Once you find what you love, devote yourself to it. If you love reading, try to read a chapter or two a day. If you love singing, plan a karaoke night with your friends. By doing the things you love, you’ll feel more refreshed and happier, even if you can only do it once a week.

So good luck, and have fun doing what you love!

Leave a Reply

