First Time Dyeing My Hair

I recently read a self-help book that mentions the importance of risk taking. The book spoke about the importance of stepping out of your comfort zone, and pushing yourself to try new things. Feeling inspired, I decided to do something daring: dye my hair purple.

Before scheduling my appointment with my hairdresser, I asked around and got some feedback from a couple of friends. All of them encouraged me to go for it and to send a ton pictures once it was colored. Their encouraging comments fired up my confidence, and I quickly called my hairdresser to make an appointment.

At the hair salon, I started to get nervous. My hair stylist sat me in the chair and began stripping my hair of the color. Watching her put the foil on my hair had my heart pounding. What if it didn’t work? What if looked bad? I nervously eyed her in the mirror as she puttered around my hair. She must’ve sensed my nerves because she immediately began distracting me. She told me that earlier a woman came in with purple hair, and how it looked it gorgeous. She then mentioned the color that the woman had was the same one she had bought for me.

After hearing her story, I started to relax. There were people in the world who were rocking purple hair, and it looked awesome on them. Why wouldn’t it look just as good on me?

A few hours later, my hairdresser took a step away from my hair, and spun me towards the mirror. When I saw myself, I was speechless. The hair looked even better than I thought it would. I had purple highlights along the sides and backs of my hair, and they looked absolutely amazing.

I’m so happy that I decided to dye my hair, and I can’t wait to go back and dye the rest of my hair purple.

Leave a Reply

