The Wonders of New York

I’ve always wanted to live in New York. NYU was my number one choice for college, and I often fantasized about living in a Manhattan apartment with a few of my closest friends. Sadly, I didn’t get to attend school in New York, but I still have infinite amounts of love for the city. This weekend, I got to visit with my business class and my love for New York only increased.

We got in in the early afternoon, and after grabbing a quick bite to eat, we went on a walking tour. Our tour took us to the One World Trade Center and the 9/11 museum. The museum was powerful. It was terrifying to see the the footage and the audio that was collected from the attacks. I can’t find the words to describe what I felt.

(One World Trade Center)

After leaving the 9/11 museum, our tour lead us through Wall Street. We saw the Trump Building, the New York Stock Exchange, and that famous statue of a bronze bull that was in the movie, Hitch. Our tour guide even informed us that the day before Ferrari World had its IPO and the entire street was lined with Ferraris.


(The New York Stock Exchange)

 (The Trump Building)

Once our tour ended, we returned back to our hotel. Then later that night, my friends and I headed to Times Square. Before you ask, yes, we took many touristy photos. My snapchat story was beyond full. In fact, I’m pretty sure everyone was sick of me bombarding their timeline with New York photos.


(Yours Truly in Times Square)

Following our Times Square photo shoot, we headed to Forever 21. I felt like I was in heaven. There was four whole floors filled with endless clothes and accessories. After spending a healthy amount of time gawking at the clothing racks, I managed to settle on a cute dress and a sweater. Although, now that I’m looking at my bank statement, I probably shouldn’t have bought anything.

We left Forever 21 and walked around Times Square for a little while longer. We even popped inside a cute Hello Kitty store before finally heading back to the hotel.

The next day, I felt exhausted. Spending all day (and night) walking around took a lot more energy than I thought. I was sleeping everytime we got on the bus and when we weren’t on the bus, I was thinking about sleep.

We made several stops during the day to visit various New York offices. We visited LinkedIn, Facebook, Vice, and Goldman Sachs.  The people who spoke with us loaded us with tons of helpful advice about internships, jobs, and college life. As helpful as it was, I couldn’t help but feel overwhelmed. The only piece of advice that stood out to me was something the Vice representative said. He said that we had to prove that we could something out of nothing. That advice resonated with me, and I couldn’t help but think about it during the rest of the day.


(Vice logo)

 (LinkedIn logo)

We ended our day at the top of the Goldman Sachs building. We peered out of the large windows soaking in our last glimpse of New York City. As I stared out, I couldn’t help but feel sad. Soon, we would be on a bus home, and we would be leaving this beautiful city behind us.

I didn’t want to leave. I wanted to pack my bags, transfer, and start a new life. The only thing that comforted me was the knowledge that one day I would be able to call New York home.

Leave a Reply

